APMC2017 – Asia Pacific Microwave Conference

Patrick Reynaert
ESAT – MICAS, Microelectronics and Sensors,
Kasteelpark Arenberg 10 – box 2443,
3001 Leuven, Belgium


EuMA: Special Session
Room, Time & Date: ROOM 02 | 14:20 – 14:40 | Tuesday, 14 November 2017


MM-wave and THz circuit design in standard CMOS technologies: challenges and opportunities

– Patrick Reynaert, Wouter Steyaert, Alexander Standaert, Dragan Simic, Guo Kaizhe

Thanks to Moore’s Law, CMOS transistors have become nanometer devices, leading to operating frequencies (fmax) that keep increasing with each technology node. Today, in 28nm CMOS, sub-THz circuits can be implemented in standard CMOS. By using non-linear circuit techniques, CMOS can be used beyond fmax. This presentation will discuss the various challenges that arise when designing circuits, in CMOS, at these high frequencies. Several design examples will be discussed. Also, the THz spectrum enables new applications like flexible guided waveguide communication and various sensing approaches, which will also be presented in this talk.


Presenter Biography

Patrick Reynaert received both the Master of Electrical Engineering (ir.) and the Ph.D. in Engineering Science (dr.) from the University of Leuven (KU Leuven), Belgium in 2001 and 2006 respectively.

During 2006-2007, he was a post-doctoral researcher at UC Berkeley. During the summer of 2007, he was a visiting researcher at Infineon, Villach, Austria. Since October 2007, he is a Professor at the University of Leuven (KU Leuven), department of Electrical Engineering (ESAT-MICAS). His main research interests include mm-wave and THz CMOS circuit design, high-speed circuits and RF power amplifiers.

Patrick Reynaert is a Senior Member of the IEEE and chair of the IEEE SSCS Benelux Chapter. He serves or has served on the technical program committees of several international conferences including ISSCC, ESSCIRC, RFIC, PRIME and IEDM. He has served as Associate Editor for Transactions on Circuits and Systems – I, and as Guest Editor for the Journal of Solid-State Circuits.

He received the 2011 TSMC-Europractice Innovation Award, the ESSCIRC-2011 Best Paper award and the 2014 2nd Bell Labs Prize.